Steve Morse Band "The Introduction"

Steve Morse Band "The Introduction"

album cover

Steve Morse Band
The Introduction
The Story
"The Introduction" was Steve Morse' landmark first album under his own name after the Dregs decided to go their separate ways in the early 1980s. "The Introduction" was just what Morse wanted -- showing the extreme talents of the trio (Rod Morgenstein on drums, Jerry Peck on bass), moving between the Dregs' sound and their slightly more guitaristic sound. "General Lee" features a guest guitar spot from super session ace Albert Lee and T Lavits from the Dregs pitches in with some piano on "Mountain Waltz". "The Introduction" won the Guitar Player Readers Poll award for best instrumental album of 1984.
The Music
05:32 Cruise Missile Instrumental
03:19 General Lee Instrumental
02:50 The Introduction Instrumental
04:21 V. H. F. (Vertical Hair Factor) Instrumental
04:46 On The Pipe Instrumental
02:13 The Whistle Instrumental
04:24 Mountain Waltz Instrumental
06:18 Huron River Blues Instrumental
The Artists
Steve Morse Guitars, Organ, Synthesizers, Production
Rod Morgenstein Drums, Synthesizer on "The Whistle"
Jerry Peek Bass Guitar
T Lavitz Piano on "Mountain Waltz"
Albert Lee Guitar on "General Lee"
Chuck Allen Engineering
Tom Morris Engineering Assistance
Jim Morris Engineering Assistance
Rick Miller Engineering Assistance
Greg Calbi Mastering
Bob Defrin Art Direction, Design
Mark Taylor Photography
Larry Mazer Management
All songs written by Steve Morse.

Recorded at Morrisound Studio, Tampa. Drums recorded at Eddy Offord Studio, Atlanta.

Mixed at Axis Sound, Atlanta.

Mastered at Sterling Sound, NYC.